By Anastasia Agunwa/Chizoba Okeke/Gloria Abugu

Awka, Sept. 24, 2021 (MOI) Anambra State House of Assembly has commended Gov. Willie Obiano for efforts at ensuring the state is enlisted among the oil producing states in the country.

The House’s commendation was sequel to a motion moved under Matters of Urgent Public Importance by Mr Lawrence Ezeudu representing Dunukofia State Constituency during plenary session on Sept. 21.

Speaker of the House, Mr Uche Okafor, who presided over the plenary session had moved for the resolution of the House, while the lawmakers unanimously adopted it through voice votes.

According to Speaker, on behalf of all of us, I commend Gov. Obiano for making it possible for Anambra State to be part of the 15 per cent derivation as well as 3 per cent fund recently approved by as soon the oil well begin to operate.

“Be it therefore resolved, that this House extols and commends Gov Obiano for achieving oil producing status for Anambra State.

“Mr. President had through the efforts of Gov. Obiano confirmed Anambra as the 11th oil producing state in the country.

“This is the first time it is happening in the old and present Anambra state. It is testament to the efforts of Obiano led-administration in his quest for enduring legacies for Ndi Anambra.

“It shows visionary measures of Gov. Obiano to make oil and gas a fourth pillar of his economic blueprint.

“The House of Assembly resolves to continue to support Obiano administration in yielding positive results in many ways,’’ Okafor noted

Mr Ezeudu said: “I commend the Governor for having made the people of Anambra proud by making sure that the state joined the league of oil producing states in Nigeria.

“Our job as legislators, we need to let Ndi Anambra know of this wonderful feat, because joining the league of 10 Oil bearing states and the state being the 11th state, it is a wonderful thing,’’ he stressed.

According him this will help to finance the state’s budget, touch the lives of the teeming unemployed youths, attract a lot of industries into Anambra.

“The state will earn respect as oil companies will now domicile in the state and will in turn employ our youths as lives of host communities will be touched.

The lawmakers that spoke in favour of the motion are Mr Nnamdi Okafor (Majority leader), Mr Timothy Ifedioranma (Njikoka 1 Constituency), Mr John Nwokoye (Awka North), Mr Chuka Ezenwune (Idemili South) and Mr Charles Obimma representing Oyi State Constituency.

Others are Mr Paschal Agbodike (Deputy Speaker), Mr Obinna Emenaka representing Anambra East constituency, Mr Patrick Udeoba (Anambra West), Mr Ejike Okechukwu (Anaocha 11), Mrs Beverly Ikpeazu-Nkemdiche (Onitsha South 11), Mr. Somtochukwu Udeze (Ogbaru 11) and Mr Carter Nnamdi Umeh, representing Aguata 1 Constituency.

Also at plenary, four legislators informed the House that that they have formally decamped from All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) to All Progressive Congress (APC).

They are Mr Timothy Ifedioranma (Njiloka 1), Mr Lawrence Ezeudu (Dunukofia), Mr. Nonso Smart Okafor (Nnewi North) and Mr Carter Nnamdi Umeh, representing Aguata 1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here