Pope Francis announced that he will create 21 new Cardinals at a Consistory on Saturday, 27 August. They represent the Church worldwide, and reflect a wide variety of cultures, contexts and pastoral ministries.The pope made this announcement after reciting the Regina Coeli prayer on May 29. He also said that he will meet during the next two days – on Monday and Tuesday, 29-30 August – with all the cardinals to reflect on the new Apostolic Constitution “Praedicate evangelium”.Here are the names of all 21 new cardinals:1. Archbishop Arthur Roche – Prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments2. Archbishop Lazzaro You Heung sik – Prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy3. Archbishop Fernando Vérgez Alzaga, L.C. – President of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State and President of the Governorate for Vatican City State4. Archbishop Jean-Marc Aveline – Metropolitan Archbishop of Marseille (France)5. Bishop Peter Okpaleke – Bishop of Ekwulobia (Nigeria)6. Archbishop Leonardo Ulrich Steiner, O.F.M. – Metropolitan Archbishop of Manaus (Brazil)7. Archbishop Filipe Neri António Sebastião di Rosário Ferrão – Archbishop of Goa and Damão (India)8. Bishop Robert Walter McElroy – Bishop of San Diego (U.S.A)9. Archbishop Virgilio Do Carmo Da Silva, S.D.B. – Archbishop of Dili (East Timor)10. Bishop Oscar Cantoni – Bishop of Como (Italy)11. Archbishop Anthony Poola – Archbishop di Hyderabad (India).12. Archbishop Paulo Cezar Costa – Metropolitan Archbishop of Brasília (Brazil)13. Bishop Richard Kuuia Baawobr, M. Africa – Bishop of Wa (Ghana)14. Archbishop William Goh Seng Chye – Archbishop of Singapore (Singapore)15. Archbishop Adalberto Martínez Flores – Metropolitan Archbishop of Asunción (Paraguay)16. Archbishop Giorgio Marengo, I.M.C. – Apostolic Prefect of Ulaanbaatar (Mongolia)17. Archbishop Jorge Enrique Jiménez Carvajal – Archbishop Emeritus of Cartagena (Colombia)18. Bishop Lucas Van Looy, S.D.B. – Bishop Emeritus of Gent (Belgium)19. Archbishop Arrigo Miglio – Archbishop Emeritus of Cagliari (Italy)20. Fr. Gianfranco Ghirlanda, S.J. – Professor di Theology21. Msgr. Fortunato Frezza – Canon of Saint Peter’s Basilica


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here