By Ononye VC
Former Ekwusigo Local Government Council Chairnan, Sir Jude Mbaegbu has emerged the Grand Knight of Knights of St Mulumba, Basilica Subordinate Council,Onitsha.
He was elected unopposed in an election that took place today at the KSM Lodge,Basilica of the Most Holy Trinity, Onitsha.
Sir Mbaegbu succeeds the foundation Grand Knight of the Subcouncil, Sir(Dr)Gabby Nwankwo whose four year tenure expired hence the election.
In a valedictory address titled,”My Brief Stint As Worthy Grand Knight Of KSM,Basilica Of The Most Holy Trinity Subordinate Council – A Most Fulfilling Experience”,the out going Grand Knight Dr Gabby Nwankwo traced the history of the Subcouncil which he said was carved out of Onitsha Subcouncil on 29th April 2017 and received its Charter directly from the the then Supreme Knight,Sir Mike Mary Nwosu of the blessed memory from where he( Sir Gabby Nwankwo) emerged as the foundation Grand Knight.
Sir Nwankwo pointed out that the unique realities of the Subcouncil were made possible because the then Onitsha Metropolitan Grand Knight, Sir Damian Okolo was a member of the Subcouncil.
Sir Nwankwo enumerated many successes of his tenure which include prudent financial management, nourishing the spiritual life of the Subcouncil members,acquiring and maintaining the Subcouncil bus,Charity works of various magnitude and effective liaison between the KSM and LSM.
He expressed gratitude to the Knights and Ladies for the level of support and loyalty accorded him.
While accepting his election,the new Grand Knight,Sir Jude Mbaegbu thanked Knights for electing him unanimously. He said he was not in doubt that members of his Executive were capable of taking the Subcouncil to next level and called for the cooperation and support of all.
One of the major highlights of the meeting was the special honors bestowed on Sir Joseph Ukeji(Chimalunzu Oraukwu) by the Supreme Knight of the Knights of St Mulumba, Nigeria which was presented to him by Sir Gabby Nwankwo.
Sir Joseph Ukeji was fingered as one of the major pillars of the Subcouncil which the KSM Nigeria hierarchy recognised and appreciated.
The election which had Chaplain of the subcouncil Rev Fr Ojukwu as the Returning Officer was monitored by officials from the Metropolitan Council.
The following officers emerged most of whom were nominated unopposed.
They are,the Grand Knight Sir Jude Mbaegbu (unopposed)
The Deputy Grand Knight Sir IK Arinze(unopposed).
The Secretary Sir Barr Mike Abuah(unopposed).
The Advocate Sir Arthur Collins Okeke (unopposed)
The Chancellor Sir Tirus Obasi (unopposed)
Others are,the Treasurer,Sir Sam Nwankwo,
the Fin Sec Sir Chike Anyadike,
the Physician,Professor Godswill Nnaji,
the Lecturer Sir Chike Iloegbunam and the PRO Sir Jude Ezepuo.
The Assistant Secretary is Sir Victor Ifeatu,the Warden is Sir Greg Maduakor,the 1st Assistant Warden is Remigus Ogochukwu while the 2nd Assistant Warden is Sir Victor Lazarus.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here